Cricinfo





 





Live Scorecards
Fixtures - Results






England v Pakistan
Top End Series
Stanford 20/20
Twenty20 Cup
ICC Intercontinental Cup





News Index
Photo Index



Women's Cricket
ICC
Rankings/Ratings



Match/series archive
Statsguru
Players/Officials
Grounds
Records
All Today's Yesterdays









Cricinfo Magazine
The Wisden Cricketer

Wisden Almanack



Reviews
Betting
Travel
Games
Cricket Manager








Previous: Leg Before Wicket, Next: Run Out, Table of contents

Law 37: Obstructing The Field

1. Wilful Obstruction

Either Batsman, on appeal, shall be out Obstructing the Field if he wilfully obstructs the opposite side by word or action.

2. Obstructing a Ball from Being Caught

The Striker, on appeal, shall be out should wilful obstruction by either Batsman prevent a catch being made.

This shall apply even though the Striker causes the obstruction in lawfully guarding his wicket under the provisions of Law 34. See Law 34.1. (Out Hit the Ball Twice).

Notes

(a) Accidental Obstruction

The Umpires must decide whether the obstruction was wilful or not. The accidental interception of a throw-in by a Batsman while running does not break this Law.

(b) Entry in Score Book

The correct entry in the score book when a Batsman is given out under this Law is "obstructing the field", and the bowler does not get credit for the wicket.



live scores








Results - Forthcoming
Desktop Scoreboard



Cricinfo Products
BET NOW: England 15/8 for Caribbean success >>
BET NOW: England 15/8 for Caribbean success >>
Sachin Tendulkar: The Man Cricket Loved Back >>
Sachin Tendulkar: The Man Cricket Loved Back >>
Get the official ESPNcricinfo phone & tablet apps >>
Get the official ESPNcricinfo phone & tablet apps >>
SPECIAL: ESPNcricinfo at 20 years - look back >>
SPECIAL: ESPNcricinfo at 20 years - look back >>
 
Sponsored Links
BET NOW on all Tests, ODIs & T20 internationals
Tournament, match & LIVE fixed odds at bet365
 

 

Date-stamped : 01 Apr2001 - 14:24