Live Scorecards
Fixtures | Results
3D Animation
The Ashes
ICC World Twenty20
ICC Women's World T20
County Cricket
Current and Future Tours
Match/series archive
Photos | Wallpapers
IPL Page 2
Cricinfo Magazine
Women's Cricket
Wisden Almanack
Fantasy Cricket
Daily Newsletter

McDonald's Bicentennial World Youth Cup

Australia, February - March 1988

From February 28 to March 13, 1988 the first Youth World Cup was conducted in Australia. Devised by Australian Cricket Board general manager Graham Halbish as part of the Australian bicentenary celebrations of that year, the tournament was conducted at a number of picturesque rural venues in the Riverlands district of eastern South Australia and the adjacent Sunraysia district of north-western Victoria. The tournament was conducted by the Australian Cricket Board with the assistance of the Australian Bicentennial Authority, Australian Sports Commission and the South Australian Department of Recreation and Sport, with major sponsorship provided by the McDonald's corporation.

Eight teams competed, the seven current Test entities (Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies), plus an ICC Associates XI team, whose squad comprised four players from Zimbabwe, plus two each from Bangladesh, Bermuda, Canada, Denmark and the Netherlands.

The eight teams competed in a full round-robin series, with the top four qualifiers eligible for the semi-finals at the Adelaide Oval. Pakistan and the home team reached the final at that ground on March 13, with Australia being triumphant.

Players who appeared in the 1988 World Youth Cup who subsequently went on to represent their countries at senior level included:

  • Australia: Stuart Law, Alan Mullally (who represented England at senior level)
  • Bangladesh: Amin-ul Islam
  • England: Mike Atherton, Mark Ramprakash, Nasser Hussain, Chris Lewis.
  • India: Nayan Mongia
  • Netherlands: Tim de Leede
  • New Zealand: Shane Thomson, Chris Cairns, Lee Germon
  • Pakistan: Basit Ali, Inzamam ul-Haq, Mushtaq Ahmed
  • Sri Lanka: Sanjeeva Ranatunga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Upul Hathurusinghe
  • West Indies: Brian Lara, Jimmy Adams

Contributed by: Rick Eyre (

live scores

Results - Forthcoming
Desktop Scoreboard

Date-stamped : 22 Jan2000 - 07:03