Suresh Perera new cap in Sri Lanka Team

By Elmo Rodrigopulle

18 June 1998

14-member squad named for triangular

Right arm medium pacer Suresh Perera is the only new cap named in the Sri Lankan squad of 14 for the Singer Nidhas Trophy triangular tourney which also features India and New Zealand.

The Sri Lankan selectors have also recalled Roshan Mahanama and Upul Chandana who missed the Test series against New Zealand.

The electors have also named Aravinda de Silva as vice captain to skipper Arjuna Ranatunga.

Chairman of selectors Duleep Mendis said that de Silva has been appointed vice captain as his experience will be required in one-day internationals.

Suresh Perera is a tight bowler and his inclusion is a good one.

Roshan Mahanama although he failed in the Kurunegala game, has been included because he has a good one-day record . In addition his fielding will be an important factor.

Avishka Gunawardena was included after his brilliant batting effort against the Kiwis in Kurunegala. He has the makings of another Sanath Jayasuriya and it is hoped he will be developed that way.

He should be an ideal partner for Jayasuriya with Atapattu who has not been in good form recently dropping into the one-drop slot.

The 14-member squad picked reads: A. Ranatunga (capt), Aravinda de Silva (vc), Romesh Kaluwitharne, Marvan Atapattu, Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardena, Roshan Mahanama, Kumara Dharmasena, Muttiah Murlitheran, Pramodaya Wickremasinghe, Suresh Perera, Avishka Gunawardena, Niroshan Bandarathilake and Upul Chandana.

It is also encouraging to see the return of allrounder Upul Chandana. He is ideal one-day material.

Hashan Tillekeratne who made a welcome return to form against the New Zealanders has been dropped.

Source: The Daily News

Contributed by CricInfo Management

Date-stamped : 18 Jun1998 - 14:39