[Sixes Logo] [Hong Kong International Cricket Sixes] [CricInfo]

Sixes Home
Live Coverage
Latest News Latest Results Statistics Commentary Interactive [Interviews] Forum Surveys Tournament Information Squads Schedule Format Rules History Sponsors

Welcome to the Official Hong Kong Sixes 1997 Web Site
2 7 - 2 8  S e p t e m b e r  1 9 9 7

Congratulations to the PAKISTAN team of Wasim Akram, Asif Mujtaba, Basit Ali, Naeem Ashraf, Raja Arshad, Sajid Ali and Zahoor Elahi on becoming the 1997 Hong Kong International Cricket Sixes Champions!

Well done also to the England team who all-but had the thrilling Final, and their third Sixes crown in six years, wrapped up going into the final over. That was until Man of the Final Zahoor Elahi stole the show by smashing Adam Hollioake for 3 fours and a six in the space of 4 balls to clinch the title.

Honourable mention goes to Sri Lanka who defeated the West Indies in an action-packed Plate Final which saw almost 200 runs and 7 wickets fall scored in the space of just 10 overs.

And last but by no means least, the home side Hong Kong won the Bowl title in emphatic style by firstly crushing South Africa for a record low total then defeating wooden spooners India by a similarly comfortable margin.

Welcome to the sixth annual Hong Kong Sixes tournament Web Site. CricInfo provided a comprehensive range of services, with coverage coming direct from our team at the Hong Kong Stadium.

Commentary was broadcast over Internet Relay Chat on server irc.cricket.org and you were also be able to hear it as it happened using RealAudio.

Our CricInfo Interactive feature has special Sixes coverage with live interviews with the superstars such as Mark Waugh, Javagal Srinath, Fanie de Villiers, Adam and Ben Hollioake and Wasim Akram as well as other well known personalities, both past and present. Plus you had the chance to vote in our all-time Dream Team and 1997 Hong Kong Sixes Dream Team surveys!

Want to know all about the Sixes? Check out the Tournament Information section with the draw for this year's competition, the format and rules it is run by as well as the players from each team. Also look at the history section where you can find out who has won the magnificent diamond-encrusted Sixes trophy in the last 5 years. Plus thank the tournament sponsors by taking a moment or two to visit their sites, remembering that without them the Sixes simply would not exist!

If you require more information about the Sixes, please e-mail to Cricket World International at sixes@cricinfo.com.

Site Design © CricInfo

Brought to you by:

New T&T Cathay Pacific

HKTA CWI Hong Kong Cricket Assocication Ken Catton Enterprises

Supported by:

Platypus Balls Jebson & Co. Ltd Netvertizing Asia Ltd.

Date-stamped : 04 Sep2000 - 00:10