· Schedule
· Results
· Points
· Statistics
· Tour Home

· Squads Index

· Kelab Aman
· Kilat Kelab
· PKNS Club
· Royal Selangor
· Rubber Research
· Victoria Institute

· ICC Trophy 1997
· Archive

· World Index
· National Index
· Site Map

Commonwealth Games, Kuala Lumpur 1998

 South Africa GOLD 
 Australia SILVER 
 New Zealand BRONZE 

Day 11 Results, 19 September 1998:

  • Final:
    Australia 183 (49.3 overs) lost to South Africa 184/6 (46 overs) by 4 wickets

Day 10 Results, 18 September 1998:

  • Bronze Medal Playoff:
    New Zealand 212/7 (50 overs) beat Sri Lanka 161 (44.4 overs) by 51 runs

One of many new team sports being introduced, one-day cricket is making its debut at the 1998 Kuala Lumpur Commonwealth Games. However with increasing talk over the future of the Games due to fear that it has lost its relevance as an event of note on an already-crowded sporting calendar, this may well be a one-off appearance for the cricketers.

With Commonwealth countries still maintaining a stranglehold on cricketing power for the most part, these Games promised to be in effect a preview to the World Cup next year. However only three Test sides are sending their best available teams - Australia, New Zealand and Zimbabwe. Of the others: England haven't sent a side at all; the West Indies is required to split into island nations, of which three are chosen (Antigua, Barbados and Jamaica); India, Pakistan, South Africa and Sri Lanka are sending weakened sides. Joining them and host nation Malaysia are the best five ICC Trophy qualifiers - Bangladesh, Kenya, Scotland, Canada and Northern Ireland (part of the ineligible Irish team).

The sixteen teams are split into four round robin groups, with only the top side from each qualifying for the semi finals. From that point, the semi final winners will contest for the gold and silver medals, while the losers will have to fight for bronze Play is spread over eleven days, two of which are before the Opening Ceremony is even held.