Cathay Pacific/Standard Chartered Hong Kong Cricket Sixes 2001 - Brought to you by Cathay Pacific

Hong Kong Cricket Association

Tour Index
Points Table

Firing Squad

National Sites
South Africa
Sri Lanka

Other Series
India in SA
NZ in Australia
West Indies in SL

Official Sites
Site Map
Cricinfo Home

Tournament Rules

[A] Rules and Regulations

The MCC Laws of Cricket (2001 Code) shall apply except as follows:

  1. Each game shall be played between two teams of six players. A game consists of a maximum of five six-ball overs bowled by each side.
  2. Each member of the fielding side shall bowl one over, with the exception of the wicketkeeper. o The wicketkeeper must be nominated at the time of the toss and must wear wicket-keeping gloves at the instant of delivery - otherwise ‘No ball’ will be called. A different wicketkeeper may be nominated for each game but cannot be changed during the course of a game.
  3. Under-arm bowling is prohibited.
  4. A wide shall count as 2 extras to the batting side and an extra ball shall be bowled.
    • Two lines shall be drawn, one at a distance of 24" on the off-side from middle stump and 18" on the on-side from middle stump, each at right angles to the popping crease. Any ball, which in the opinion of the Umpire, passes the batting crease, over or outside these lines shall be called a wide, providing it does not subsequently touch the bat and/or any part of the striker and irrespective of it being within reach of the striker.
    • Upon a call of 'Wide' the ball shall remain live.
  5. A No ball shall count as 2 extras to the batting side and an extra ball shall be bowled. Any runs scored from a No ball (off the bat, byes, or leg-byes) will be credited in addition to the 2 extras for the No ball.
    • Any ball, which, after bouncing, passes the batsman above shoulder height in his normal stance, or would have passed him above shoulder height if it strikes his bat or body, shall be called a No ball.
    • Any ball that, having not bounced after leaving the bowlers hand, passes the batsman above bail height shall be called a No ball.
    • If, at the instant of delivery, the wicketkeeper is more than 25 meters away from the stumps at the striker's end, the square leg umpire shall call No ball.
    • The ball remains live after the call of No ball.
  6. If five wickets fall (not including batsmen retiring not out under rule A7) before 5 overs are completed, the last remaining batsman shall bat on with the 5th out batsman acting as runner. The last remaining batsman must always take strike. He shall be declared out if his partner is declared out. The innings shall be completed at the fall of the sixth wicket.
  7. A batsman must retire 'not out' on reaching a personal score of 31 runs, but may not retire before reaching 31 runs. The batsman may complete all runs possible off the stroke that takes him to 31 and the full score shall count. If one of the last pair of batsmen is out, any retired "not out" batsman may resume his innings.
  8. If a fielder is injured, a substitute fielder will be permitted, but he will not be allowed to bat or bowl. If an injured fielder has not completed his bowling, the opposing captain shall nominate which member of the fielding side, including wicketkeeper shall complete the injured fielder's bowling, subject to that player not bowling consecutive overs or part thereof. An injured wicketkeeper may also be substituted, but a maximum of one substitution only will be allowed for the fielding side. Once a substitute is introduced, the player being replaced may take no further part in the match in progress. Substitution shall be allowed only in the case of any injury sustained during a game and for no other reason.
  9. If any fielders are not on the field when a game commences, the side in question must play the whole game with the number of players on the field at the start of the game. The opposing captain may nominate the member(s) of the fielding team to bowl any required overs to make up for missing fielders, but no bowler may bowl two consecutive overs or part thereof.
  10. A penalty of 4 runs shall be deducted if an incoming batsman does not cross with the outgoing batsman on the field of play.

[B] Points System

  1. The side having the highest score at the completion of the game shall win.
  2. In the event of tied scores, the side losing fewest wickets shall be judged the winner.
  3. In the event of both teams still being equal, the side that conceded least extras shall win and, if still equal, the team hitting the most sixes shall win.
  4. Two points shall be awarded to the winning side and any team losing a tied game under Rules B2 or B3 shall earn one point.
  5. Should teams have equal points at the end of the Round Robin stage, the superior position will be judged according to the following criteria:
    • The teams will be ranked according to total runs scored including extras, divided by the total number of legitimate balls faced.
    • If still equal, the team that won the Pool game between the two sides shall prevail.
  6. In the event of a tie not resolved by Rule B2 or B3, the fielders of each team shall bowl one ball each at a set of stumps alternately. The side hitting the wickets the most times out of 4 shall be declared the winner. If each team hits the wickets the same number of times, the process shall continue to bowl alternately in the same order as before and the winner shall be declared as soon as one bowler succeeds whilst his opposite number fails to hit the wickets. No balls and wides will count as an attempt but no extra ball will be allowed.
  7. The Tournament shall consist of two stages. A Round Robin in two Pools of four teams followed by a knockout for the Cup and Plate. In the Pool stage each team will play the other teams in the Pool once (3 games). The two teams finishing top in each Pool will enter the Cup competition and the remainder will enter the Plate competition.
[C] Other Procedures
  1. Each squad may nominate up to 7 players before the commencement of their first match, from which the team of 6 shall be drawn for each game. No team, under any circumstances, shall play any player other than the original 7 nominated in their squad.
  2. One player from each squad shall be nominated as Captain for the duration of the competition even though he may not necessarily play all matches. Captains shall be responsible for naming the six players for each game, for time keeping, for the conduct of their team and for acting on their behalf in the event of disputes.
  3. Time keeping is crucial to the success of the competition. Teams must be prepared in advance for each game as follows:
    • Team Captains must toss at least 25 minutes before the scheduled start of the game and notify their Team Liaison Officer of team selection, including Vice-Captain, Wicketkeeper and substitute.
    • Opening batsmen and wicketkeepers are to be padded up before the conclusion of the preceding game.
    • Incoming batsmen shall cross with the outgoing batsmen on the field of play (see rule A10).
  4. Any team failing to appear at their appointed time will forfeit the game.
  5. Decisions of the Umpires on the field of play, and the Match Referee in all other matters shall be final. The Match Committee shall take appropriate action against any player misconduct or unfair play during the tournament.
  6. The Match Committee reserves the right to amend these Rules at any time if it considers such an action to be in the best interests of the competition.


Cathay Pacific/ Standard Chartered Hong Kong Cricket Sixes

Should we have more of such Tournaments as the Hong Kong Sixes?

Poll Results Archive

Buy! India v Australia Test Series Baazee Auctions firing squad StatsGuru Cricshop