· Live Coverage
· Scorecards
· Reports
· Tables
· Articles
· Schedule
· Averages
· Squads
· Venues
· Pictures
· ICCT Home

· ICC Nations

· Kenya 1994
· Netherlands 1990
· England 1986
· England 1982
· England 1979
· Statistics

· Homepage
· Index

Carlsberg ICC Trophy, Malaysia

24 March - 12 April 1997


Day Twenty-One - Sunday, April 13:
Bangladesh are the 1997 ICC Trophy champions. They win a nail-biting final against Kenya on the last ball of a rain-affected game.

Day Twenty - Saturday, April 12:
For the fourth consecutive game, the ICC Trophy Final is turned into a two-day affair because of rain delaying the start.
Kenya's Steve Tikolo plays the innings of the tournament to score 147 from 152 balls.
Bangladesh will start Day Two needing to score 242 in their fifty overs to lift the ICC Trophy, otherwise it will be Kenya's.

Day Nineteen - Friday, April 11:
Scotland qualify for the 1999 World Cup by defeating Ireland in the third place playoff.

Day Eighteen - Thursday, April 10:
Rain interferes yet again as Scotland can only face nineteen overs in their semi-final against Ireland.
Play continues Friday, the winners qualifying for that final twelfth spot in the 1999 World Cup.

Day Seventeen - Wednesday, April 9:
Bangladesh qualify for their first-ever World Cup after defeating Scotland in a two-day semi-final.
Scotland face Ireland for the last World Cup place on Thursday.
Kenya face Bangladesh on Saturday for the trophy.

Day Sixteen - Tuesday, April 8:
Another semi-final, another rain delay, another two-day game. Bangladesh score 243 for 7 and give Scotland plenty to think about overnight.

Day Fifteen - Monday, April 7:
Kenya are the first team through to the 1999 World Cup, and qualify for Saturday's final, in a thriller over Ireland finishing on the second morning.

Day Fourteen - Sunday, April 6:
Rain turns the first semi-final into a two-day game. Ireland will be chasing Kenya's 215 on Monday morning for a place in next Saturday's final.

Day Thirteen - Saturday, April 5:
Denmark take fifth place over the Netherlands, and Canada take seventh place over Hong Kong.
Bermuda win the Philip Snow Plate and ninth place, 1994 ICCT Champions UAE finish tenth.
Fiji and Papua New Guinea the other Day Twelve winners. Four games, four teams to go.
The statistical curio of the day belongs to Hong Kong bowler Roy Lamsam against Canada.

Day Twelve - Friday, April 4:
Kenya beat Scotland, but both qualify for the semi-finals, as do...
Ireland, big winners over Hong Kong... and
Bangladesh, who defeat the Netherlands in a nail-biting sudden-death rain-affected thriller, Akram Khan the hero. The Netherlands are eliminated.
The semi-finalists - Bangladesh v Scotland, and Ireland v Kenya.

Day Eleven - Thursday, April 3:
Thursday a rest day in preparation for the final round of quarter-final matches on Friday.
One placing decided already: Gibraltar finish 19th!

Day Ten - Wednesday, April 2:
Just two stars on Day 9: East & Central Africa's Yekesh Patel, (95 from 98 balls v Italy); and the rain...

Day Nine - Tuesday, April 1:
Rain intervenes to give Ireland victory over the Netherlands on run rate.
Kenya, Scotland and Bangladesh the other Quarter-Final Round winners.
UAE defeat USA to go into Saturday's Plate final (for overall 9th place) against the winner of Wednesday's Bermuda - Fiji clash.
Papua New Guinea's Vavine Pala has the bowling figures of the day, 6-16 in the victory over Namibia.
Gibraltar and West Africa round off the Day 8 winners.

Day Eight - Monday, March 31:
Rest day.

Day Seven - Sunday, March 30:
Defending champions, United Arab Emirates, are eliminated despite an eight wicket victory over Argentina.
The United States are eliminated following a humiliating dismissal for 32 all out against Kenya.
Canada and the Netherlands share points after a pitch invasion forces abandonment of their game.
Other Day Seven winners: Bangladesh, Denmark, Scotland, Ireland and Gibraltar,
And the final eight are: Kenya, Scotland, Denmark, Canada, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Ireland and Hong Kong.

Day Six - Saturday, March 29:
Defending champions UAE slip closer to elimination in a big loss to Bangladesh.
Patrick Fordham is the star batsman in Hong Kong's big win over Papua New Guinea.
Kenya inflict a 119-run victory over Ireland to join Bangladesh as the first teeams to win four out of four.
Denmark, USA, Fiji, Scotland and Canada are the other Day Six winners with one day of the first round remaining.

Day Five - Friday, March 28:
Janiero Tucker of Bermuda and Riaz Farcy for Hong Kong are century makers in their respective side's Day Five victories.
Netherlands are the latest team to win three out of three with a big win over Fiji.
The first rain-affected match of the tournament sees Singapore defeat Gibraltar on run rate.
Friday's closest result was Namibia's one-wicket victory over East and Central Africa.

Day Four - Thursday, March 27:
Bangladesh win their third in a row with an easy victory over Denmark.
Ireland also make it three out of three with a two-wicket win over the USA.
Kenya return to form with a crushing win over Gibraltar.
Other Day Four winners: West Africa, UAE and Singapore.

Day Three - Wednesday, March 26:
Canada, Denmark, Fiji, Ireland, Papua New Guinea and Scotland are the Day Three winners.
Denmark complete a thrilling one-wicket win over the United Arab Emirates.
Muneeb Diwan makes the top score of the day, 128 for Canada against Namibia.

Day Two - Tuesday, March 25:
Bangladesh, Kenya, the Netherlands and the United States are the first teams to win their first two matches.
Kenya struggle to victory over Singapore.
West Indian veteran Faoud Bacchus scores the only century of the day in the USA's win over Gibraltar.

Day One - Monday, March 24:
The lowest score in ICC Trophy history on the first morning. East & Central Africa all out for 26 against the Netherlands. Asim Khan takes 7 for 9 runs for the Netherlands.
Alan Lewis scores the first century of the tournament, his 127 in 142 balls for Ireland is more than opponents Gibraltar 86.

The Carlsberg ICC Trophy is presented with the support of its sponsors.

Date-stamped : 25 Feb1998 - 18:28