Women's Home
  India Home
  World Cup 2000
  CricInfo Home

  Sights & Sounds

  New Zealand
  South Africa

Home News Players World Cups Statistics Domestic Current Series Pictures About

About Women's Cricket Association

The Women's Cricket Association of India (WCAI) was founded in 1973 at Pune with Premila Bai Chavan, Member of Parliament, as the first president.

By the end of 1973, women's cricket had spread all over India, and December 23rd, 1973 saw as many as 14 teams competing in the second Nationals at Varanasi, braving the bitter winter cold and the travails of travelling during the locomotive strike.

The standard of cricket too has improved with some of the leading players running up records that stood the test of time while the organisation was put on a sound footing thanks to the efforts of selfless and dynamic administrators. Women's cricket in India has a much healthier look offlate.

Date-stamped : 31 May2000 - 08:27