About Us
   Media Releases
   Contact Us

   PWCA Archive

   News Archive

Women Cricket in Pakistan

How it started - Chronology
1978 - Dr Iqbal Dar the Prinicipal, chaired a meeting attended by a number of celebrities, former players and coaches at Lahore College for Women, Lahore. Many suggestions were given to help formalize women cricket. This pioneering effort heralded the beginning of women cricket in Pakistan. Some of those that attended were:
Kh Abdul Rab Nawaz (Late): former Coach Pakistan Cricket Team and Aitchison College.
Nazar Mohammad (Late): former member of Pakistan Cricket Team and father of Muddasar Nazar, Coach of Pakistan Cricket Team.
Agha Saadat Ali (Late): former member of Pakistan Cricket Team and former Coach of Pakistan Cricket Team.
Gul Mohammad (Late): former member and Coach of Pakistan Cricket team and of the Pakistan Women Cricket Team.

Later 1978 - in the first meeting of Pakistan Women Cricket Association, a constitution committee was set up and asked to prepare the PWCA Constitution to be approved by the General Council meeting.

Oct 1978 - At the PWCA meeting held at Lahore College for Women, Dr Iqbal Dar was elected the first President. Other officials (now mostly late) were:
PATRON: Begum Razia Azam Ali Baig (Late), Director Sports (Women), Punjab University.
PRESIDENT: Dr Iqbal Dar (Retd), Principal Lahore College for Women.
SECRETARY: Tahira Hameed.
JOINT SECY: Nasim Yousaf, Physical Education Officer, Lahore.
TREASURER: Mrs Rashid, Principal, Hullia-tu-Bannat
COACHES: Nazar Mohammad (Late), Abdul Rab Nawaz (Late), Mohammad Sharif.

Oct 1978 - The PWCA Archive contains letters requesting affiliation of Pakistan Women Cricket Association with the BCCP (Board of Control for Cricket in Pakistan), now called the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). These letters state that the PWCA had been formed and the list of the Office Bearers was included. The archive also contains other relevant correspondence.

Oct 1978 - A coaching & training camp was started under the supervision of the Coaches at Lahore College for Women and players invited from all over Pakistan. After completion of the coaching camp a tournament was held at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore under the auspices of BCCP. Chief Justice Cornelius was the Chief Guest on the final day. Click for some historic pictures.

1978 - In the same year, during formation of Pakistan Women Cricket Association, a founder member, Azraa Parveen started the Universal Women Cricket Club (UWCC), Lahore and requested PWCA affiliation. This club started off from Lady MacLagon Girls High School, Lahore. Dr Bushra Mateen, Principal Queen Mary College Lahore, was its first President and Azraa Parveen, the first Secretary. This club was also the first women cricket club in Pakistan.

UWCC - From 1979 onwards UWCC Clubs were organized in Karachi, Rawalpindi, Faisalabad and other cities in Pakistan. A National Women Cricket Tournament at Queen Mary College was organized. In the Medora Women Cricket Tournament at Queen Mary and Lahore College for Women, 10 teams from all over Pakistan participated. These clubs are active all over Pakistan.

1982 - Azraa Parveen was invited to work for PWCA and from 1982 she has been working for the promotion and development of women cricket in Pakistan.

Our Activities
1982 onwards - Many tournaments, Inter-Divisional, Inter-Club, Inter-Collegiate have become a regular feature of women cricket in Pakistan. A Double-Wicket Women Cricket Tournament has also been introduced as well as Girls School Cricket. The Quaid-e-Azam Women Cricket Trophy has become the regular First Class Women Cricket Tournament. Some relevant press-clippings show our activities. Our extensive pictures archive contains action, tournament, training and team photographs.

More than 200 Women Clubs - Now, more than 200 Women Cricket teams are active in Pakistan.

Day/Night Cricket - PWCA also organised a D/N Women Cricket Tournament at Asghar Ali Shah Stadium, Karachi, and former PCB Chairman, Mr Mujeeb-ur-Rehman was the Chief Guest.

2000-01 Season - PWCA organised a Quaid-e-Azam Women Cricket Trophy and the D/N final was played at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore. Pakistan TV also telecast the final.

Organisation of tournaments - PWCA organizes National and International tournaments through proper channels under the parent body, PCB that is the controlling body for cricket in Pakistan.

Elections - PWCA holds elections according to its constitution. The first President was Dr Iqbal Dar, second was Dr Bushra Mateen, Principal, Lahore College for Women and the current President is Shirin Javed and Secretary General is Azraa Parveen.

Affiliates - The four Provincial Cricket Associations are affiliated with PWCA: Punjab Women Cricket Association, Sindh Women Cricket Association, Baluchistan Women Cricket Association and NWFP Women Cricket Association.

Status - The current President and Secretary PWCA are active in promotion of women cricket in Pakistan and due to their efforts Pakistan Cricket Board has included Women Cricket in its Constitution. It is hoped that a National Pakistan Women Cricket Team will participate in the forthcoming Women World Cup under the banner of PWCA.



Next match:
England v Pakistan
2nd Match

09:15 GMT, Sep 2.

Other Matches

Date-stamped : 18 Jun2002 - 07:26