Live Scorecards
Fixtures - Results

England v Pakistan
Top End Series
Stanford 20/20
Twenty20 Cup
ICC Intercontinental Cup

News Index
Photo Index

Women's Cricket

Match/series archive
All Today's Yesterdays

Cricinfo Magazine
The Wisden Cricketer

Wisden Almanack

Cricket Manager

Previous: Timed Out, Next: Handled The Ball, Table of contents

Law 32: Caught

1. Out Caught

The Striker shall be out Caught if the ball touches his bat or if it touches below the wrist his hand or glove, holding the bat, and is subsequently held by a Fieldsman before it touches the ground.

2. A Fair Catch

A catch shall be considered to have been fairly made if:-

(a) The Fieldsman is within the field of play throughout the act of making the catch.

(i) The act of making the catch shall start from the time when the Fieldsman first handles the ball and shall end when he both retains complete control over the further disposal of the ball and remains within the field of play.

(ii) In order to be within the field of play, the Fieldsman may not touch or ground any part of his person on or over a boundary line. When the boundary is marked by a fence or board the Fieldsman may not ground any part of his person over the boundary fence or board, but may touch or lean over the boundary fence or board in completing the catch.

(b) The ball is hugged to the body of the catcher or accidental- ly lodges in his dress or, in the case of the Wicket-Keeper, in his pads. However, a Striker may not be caught if a ball lodges in a protective helmet worn by a Fieldsman, in which case the Um- pire shall call and signal "dead ball". See Law 23. (Dead Ball). (c) The ball does not touch the ground even though a hand hold- ing it does so in effecting the catch.

(d) A Fieldsman catches the ball, after it has been lawfully played a second time by the Striker, but only if the ball has not touched the ground since being first struck.

(e) A Fieldsman catches the ball after it has touched an Umpire, another Fieldsman or the other Batsman. However a Striker may not be caught if a ball has touched a protective helmet worn by a Fieldsman.

(f) The ball is caught off an obstruction within the boundary provided it has not previously been agreed to regard the obstruc- tion as a boundary.

3. Scoring of Runs

If a Striker is caught, no runs shall be scored.


(a) Scoring from an Attempted Catch When a Fieldsman carrying the ball touches or grounds any part of his person on or over a boundary marked by a line, 6 runs shall be scored.

(b) Ball Still in Play If a Fieldsman releases the ball before he crosses the boundary, the ball will be considered to be still in play and it may be caught by another Fieldsman. However, if the original Fieldsman returns to the field of play and handles the ball, a catch may not be made.

Previous: Timed Out, Next: Handled The Ball, Table of contents

live scores

Results - Forthcoming
Desktop Scoreboard


Date-stamped : 01 Apr2001 - 14:24