Laws of Cricket 1947 Code (Second Edition)
Law 39 - L.B.W.
[Previous] [Index] [Next]
The Striker is out “Leg before wicket” – If with any part of his person except his hand, which is in a straight line between wicket and wicket, even though the point of impact be above the level of the bails, he intercept a ball which has not first touched his bat or hand, and which, in the opinion of the Umpire, shall have, or would have, pitched on a straight line from the Bowler’s wicket to the Striker’s wicket, or shall have pitched on the off-side of the Striker’s wicket, provided always that the ball would have hit the wicket.
NOTE ON LAW 39
- The word "hand" used in this Law should be interpreted as the hand holding the bat.
- A batsman is only “Out” under this Law if all the four following questions are answered in the affirmative.
- Would the ball have hit the wicket?
- Did the ball pitch on a straight line between wicket and wicket (and this case includes a ball intercepted full pitch by the striker), or did it pitch on the offside of the striker’s wicket?
- Was it part of the striker’s person other than the hand which first intercepted the ball?
- Was that part of the striker’s person in a straight line between wicket and wicket at the moment of impact, irrespective of the height of the point of impact?
Note 1 was added to the Law sometime late 1955 or early 1956 and the previous Note 1 renumbered to be Note 2.
Reproduction of the Laws of Cricket is by kind permission of Marylebone Cricket Club