Laws of Cricket 1947 Code (Fourth Edition)
Law 28 - Wide Ball
[Previous] [Index] [Next]
If the bowler shall bowl the ball so high over or so wide of the wicket that in the opinion of the Umpire is passes out of reach of the Striker, and would not have been within his reach when taking guard in the normal position, the Umpire shall call and signal “Wide Ball” as soon as it shall have passed the Striker.
NOTES ON LAW 28
- If a ball which the umpire considers to have been delivered comes to rest in front of the Striker “Wide” should not be called, and no runs should be added to the score unless they result from the striker hitting the ball which he has a right to do without interference by the fielding side. Should the fielding side interfere, the umpire is justified in replacing the ball where it came to rest and ordering the fieldsmen to resume the places they occupied in the field before the ball was delivered.
- The umpire signals “Wide” by extending both arms horizontally.
- An umpire should revoke the call if the striker hits a ball which has been called “Wide”.
Reproduction of the Laws of Cricket is by kind permission of Marylebone Cricket Club