Sri Lanka vs Pakistan Test Series: Second Test at the SSC


Thursday 10, April 1997

The Sri Lanka Cricket Board's decision to switch the venue of the second Test between Sri Lanka and Pakistan from the Tyronne Fernando Stadium to the SSC grounds is perhaps one of the rational decisions it has taken for some time.

The SSC as we all know is the only cricket ground in the country that devotes all its energies towards improving the game. It has the facilities, provides the right environment, and above all, it houses the Sri Lanka Cricket Board headquarters. Why it is often overlooked when Test or One-day international itineraries are drawn up is an enigma.

According to Cricket Board sources the change of venue has come about due to the Tyronne Fernando Stadium pitch 'not being in good shape' to hold the second Test from April 26-30.

The first of two-Tests in the short series begins on April 19 at the R. Premadasa Stadium.

Pakistan are due to arrive on April 15 and play a two-day game against a Sri Lanka Board President's XI captained by Marvan Atapattu on April 16 and 17 at Police Park, Bambalapitiya.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that former New Zealand captain John Reid will be the match referee for the series.

The umpires who will officiate the three matches are: Two-day game at Police Park (April 16-17): Peter Manuel and T.M. Samarasinghe.

First Test at R. Premadasa Stadium (April 19-23): Udaya Wickremasinghe and David Shepherd (England), third umpire: K.T. Francis, standby umpire: T. M. Samarasinghe.

Second Test at SSC (April 26-30): Peter Manuel and Ian Robinson (Zimbabwe), third umpire: Ignatius Anandappa, standby umpire: Udaya Wickremasinghe.

Source: The Daily News

Contributed by CricInfo Management
Date-stamped : 25 Feb1998 - 14:46