Domestic Competitions

Domestic Teams

Domestic History




Past Series

Web Links


Live Scorecards
Fixtures - Results

England v Pakistan
Top End Series
Stanford 20/20
Twenty20 Cup
ICC Intercontinental Cup

News Index
Photo Index

Women's Cricket

Match/series archive
All Today's Yesterdays

Cricinfo Magazine
The Wisden Cricketer

Wisden Almanack

Cricket Manager

England Domestic Season


Frequent users may like to use the brief index.


Welcome to CricInfo's presentation of Domestic and International Cricket 1996 in England. You will find here details related to the teams that take part in various domestic competitions, scorecards, march reports, statistical details, player profiles, ground profiles and so on.

Cricket season in England extends from April to September of every year. During this time, domestic championship matches are played by 18 First Class Counties, County 2nd XIs, Cambridge and Oxford Universities and the Minor Counties. One or two Test playing Countries also tour England to play Test and One-day cricket against England, as well as several tour matches. Other first class sides also tour England to play matches against various teams.

This year, India, Pakistan and South Africa 'A' are scheduled to play in England.

First Class Counties

Derbyshire, Durham, Essex, Glamorgan, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Somerset, Surrey, Sussex, Warwickshire, Worcestershire and Yorkshire are the 18 First Class Counties. They take part in the following championship tournaments as well as playing first class matches against touring countries and representative sides.

Britannic Assurance County Championship

The 18 counties play each other in a 4 day first class match league. Counties are awarded
points for each match. The County that aggregates the maximum points wins the championship.

AXA Equity & Law Sunday League

The 18 counties also play a 40 overs a side limited overs match league. A team gets 4 points for a win, 2 for a tie or no result and 0 for a loss. The County that aggregates the maximum points wins the league.

Benson & Hedges Cup

The 18 First class counties along with Scotland, Ireland, a combined British Universities team and a representative Minor Counties team play a league cum knock out, 50 overs a side, limited overs tournament. The 22 teams are divided into 4 groups and play a league within each group. The top two from each group then particpate in a knock-out and the winner of the finals wins the Cup.

NatWest Trophy

The 18 First-class counties, 11 Minor County sides, Scotland, Ireland and The Netherlands take part in the knock-out based, 60 overs a side limited overs tournament. The winner of the finals wins the trophy.

The Universities

Cambridge University and Oxford University play a few select First Class counties in 3 day first class matches. Also the two universities meet each other in a first class game and a limited overs match. A combined British Universities team also takes part in the Benson & Hedges Cup. There is also a championship organized by the British Universities Sports Association (BUSA).

Other Matches

The following first class matches are played traditionally every year.

County 2nd XIs

The 18 first-class counties also have 2nd-XI sides that take part in the following championships.

2nd XI Championship

Each team plays the other in a 3 day league match. These matches are not first class. Points are awarded similar to the County Championship system and the team that collects the maximum points wins the championship.

Bain Hogg Trophy

The 2nd-XI of the first class counties, MCC young cricketers and Minor Counties Under-25 side play in a league cum knock-out tournament. The winner of the finals gets the trophy.

Minor Counties

Bedfordshire, Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Cheshire, Cornwall, Cumberland, Devon, Dorset, Herefordshire, Hertfordshire, Lincolnshire, Norfolk, Northumberland, Oxfordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Suffolk, Wales and Wiltshire are the 20 Minor Counties that form the Minor Counties Cricket Association. A single collective Minor Counties side selected from these 20 counties, takes part in the Benson & Hedges Cup. 11 of the 20 Minor Counties also take part in the NatWest Trophy.

Minor County Championship

The 20 teams play each other in 2 day matches in a league. The county that collects the maximum points wins the championship.

MCC Trophy

The Minor County sides also take part in a knock-out limited overs competition.

Under-19 International Cricket

A program of England Under 19 matches is arranged under the Development of Excellence Program. This year New Zealand Under 19 are touring England.

Under-15 International Cricket

10 countries - Australia, Canada, England, India, The Netherlands, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies and Zimbabwe - take part in the inagural Under-15 World Cup, sponsored by the Lombard Group of Companies, and organised by the English Schools' Cricket Association.

Women's Cricket

live scores

Results - Forthcoming
Desktop Scoreboard


Date-stamped : 07 Jul1998 - 10:21