Club News

11 June 2000

Robert Croft has been included in England`s 14 man squad for the First Test against the West Indies at Edgbaston.

The Glamorgan off-spinner has been recalled to the Test ranks after an 18 month absence, and if he is selected on Thursday morning in the final team, Croft will win his 16th England cap to establish a new club record for the most number of appearances in the England side. He currently shares the record of 15 appearances with Jeff Jones and Allan Watkins.

Indeed, many of the press believe that Croft will replace leg-spinner Chris Schofield as England`s specialist spin bowler. The squad also includes Kent all-rounder Mark Ealham, but Chairman of Selectors, David Graveney, hinted at Croft`s recall to the England side by saying "my personal belief would be that it`d be better to have a variation other than five seamers."

Croft`s recall into the England ranks follows an excellent performance against the tourists for Glamorgan last week at Cardiff. Croft returned figures of 5-26 and 3-44 in the match, and dismissed Brian Lara in both innings. With so many other left-handers likely to play in the West Indian top order, it seems that Croft could soon be celebrating another Test cap, and a new club record.

Matthew Maynard`s feat of scoring 104 in Saturday`s Benson and Hedges final saw the Glamorgan captain establish a unique place in the one-day record books by becoming the only batsman ever to score a hundred in both the semi-final and final of the one-day competitions. Maynard made a majestic 109 in the semi-final victory over Surrey at Cardiff.

Below is a list of the other batsmen to score hundreds in cup finals at Lord`s,

                        Benson and Hedges Cup/Super Cup

1979            G.A.Gooch       120     Essex v Surrey                  
1981            I.V.A.Richards  132*    Somerset v Surrey               
1995            P.A.De Silva    112     Kent v Lancashire               
1999            M.W.Alleyne     112     Gloucestershire v Yorkshire     

                        Gillette Cup/Nat West Trophy

1965            G.Boycott       146     Yorkshire v Surrey              
1972            C.H.Lloyd       126     Lancashire v Warwickshire       
1979            I.V.A.Richards  117     Somerset v Northamptonshire     
1981            G.Cook          111     Northamptonshire v Derbyshire   
1985            B.R.Hardie      110     Essex v Nottinghamshire         
1993            D.M.Smith       124     Sussex v Warwickshire           
1993            Asif Din        104     Warwickshire v Sussex