2003 Season

  2002 Season


  Photo Gallery

  Club Directory


  SPCL Umpire



  SEC Cup





Southern Electric Contracting Cup 2003


1. A total of 27 Southern Electric Premier League teams have confirmed entry for the 2003 competition on the basis of one side per club. Gosport Borough CC, Hampshire Academy CC, Hook & Newnham Basics CC, Hungerford CC, Leckford CC, St Cross Symondians CC and Ventnor CC declined the invitation to enter this year's competition.

The 27 clubs have been regionalised into four geographical areas. In order to achieve as wide a draw as possible the four semi-finalists from the 2002 competition (Rowledge CC, BAT Sports CC, Bashley Rydal CC and South Wilts CC) have been given a bye into the second round. In order to create an equal draw a further team (Bournemouth CC) was drawn at random for a bye to the second round.

The first round has been regionalised and will be played on two separate nights. The second round draw has equally been regionalised and it is the intention, unless strong evidence is produced to the contrary, to regionalise the quarter-finals. The Draw for the first and second rounds is attached.

2. As in previous years any inability to complete the scheduled first round on the due day (because of weather conditions) should be played on the same day of the following week. In other words a cancellation on Tuesday 20 May 2003 should be re-scheduled for Tuesday 27 May 2003 and similarly a cancellation on Thursday 22 May 2003 should be re-scheduled for Thursday 29 May 2003. Any further cancellations in the first round and in subsequent rounds can be scheduled for the next available Tuesday or Thursday.

3. Clubs are reminded that inclement weather is the only reason for cancellation/postponement of a fixture. An inability to raise a side is not a reason for cancellation or postponement. ALL QUESTIONS OF DOUBT MUST BE DIRECTED TO THE COMPETITIONS ORGANISER OR SECRETARY (Ray Holyer or Geoffrey Elderfield) WITHOUT DELAY. This competition shall take precedence over all other midweek competitions except for the National Club Championship.

4. An updated copy of the Competition Rules will be included in the handbook. Participating clubs should note that there are some changes in that there will be a maximum of 20 overs per innings with bowlers limited to a maximum of five overs each. There are also "penalty Runs" awarded for failure to complete the minimum number of overs in the allocated time.

5. The following contact details for The Competitions Organiser and Secretary should be clearly noted:
Geoffrey Elderfield (Competitions Secretary), 113 Reginald Road, Southsea, Portsmouth, Hampshire, PO4 9HN
Telephone number: 023 9273 3300 (home and fax)

Ray Holyer (Competitions Organiser), 46 Cambridge Road, Lee-on-the-Solent, Hampshire, PO13 9DH
Telephone numbers: 023 9279 6937 (h), 01252 868681 (o), 07710 215781 (m), 023 9235 0049 (h-fax), e-mail Ray Holyer

e-mail Web-master Richard Isaacs

Date-stamped : 17 Mar2003 - 22:06